Open Access Week 2020 – Get involved!

During Open Access Week, Australian universities are offering a wide selection of events, webinars, presentations, panels, and launching new resources. Show your support for open education by attending sessions organised by our Special Interest Group members.

PLEASE NOTE: Some Australian States and Territories are currently using Daylight Savings Time. Check the event time for Australian Western Standard Time (AWST), Australian Eastern Daylight Savings Time (AEDST) and Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) to avoid disappointment.

CORRECTIONS: If any corrections are needed to this page, please contact adrian.stagg@usq.edu.au

Monday October 19

Time Event University/Organisation
11.00 am – 12.00 noon (AWST)

1.00 – 2.00pm (AEST)

2.00-3.00pm (AEDT)
Open access in Arts and EducationDeakin University
8.00-8.30am (AWST)

10.00-10.30am (AEST)

11.00-11.30am (AEDT)
Book Launches: Gems & Nuggets, and Trauma informed positive practicesUniversity of Southern Queensland
8.00-8.30am (AWST)

10.00-10.30am (AEST)

11.00-11.30am (AEDST)
Open access publishingVictoria University
11.00-12.00 noon (AWST)

1.00-2.00pm (AEST)

2.00-3.00pm (AEDT)
The Benefits of Making Research Open AccessUniversity of Western Australia
9.00-10.00am (AWST)

11am – 12noon (AEST)

12.00 noon – 1.00pm
(ADST)
Preprints: a practical guide
(Jessica Polka)
AOASG
10.00-11.00am (AWST)

12noon – 1pm AEST

1.00-2.00pm (ADST)
Open and FAIR Research PracticesAOASG
11.00-12.30pm (AWST)

1.00-2.30pm (AEST)

2.00-2.30pm (AEDST)
Copyright for researchersVictoria University

Tuesday October 20

Time Event University/Organisation
11.00am-12.00 noon (AWST)

1.00-2.00pm (AEST)

2.00-3.00pm (ADST)
Open access in Business and LawDeakin University
8.00-8.30am (AWST)

10.00-10.30am (AEST)

11.00-11.30am (ADST)
Download and Print: 3D Printing and Decentralised Open ManufacturingUniversity of Southern Queensland
7.00-8.00am (AWST)

9.00-10.00am (AEST)

10.00-11.00m (ADST)
Raising awareness of OER textbooks and open licencesRMIT
8.00-8.30am (AWST)

10.00-10.30am (AEST)

11.00-11.30am (ADST)
Copyright for teachingVictoria University
9.00-10.00am (AWST)

11am – 12noon (AEST)

12.00 noon – 1.00pm (ADST)
Communicating a pandemic
(Siouxsie Wiles)
AOASG
10.00-11.00am (AWST)

12noon – 1pm (AEST)

1.00-2.00pm (ADST)
Indigenous voices, indigenous research and open accessAOASG
11.30-12.00 noon (AWST)

1.30-2.00pm (AEST)

2.30-3.00pm (ADST)
FAIR principlesVictoria University
1.00-2.00pm (AWST)

3.00-4.00pm (AEST)

4.00-5.00pm (ADST)
‘Visualise Your Thesis’, open scholarship and knowledge translationLa Trobe University

Wednesday October 21

Time Event University/Organisation
8.00-8.30am (AWST)

10.00-10.30am (AEST)

11.00-11.30am (ADST)
Strategies for scholarly publishingVictoria University
9.00-10.00am (AWST)

11.00am – 12noon (AEST)

12.00 noon – 1.00pm (ADST)
Beyond open access – what should our aims be for full accessibility (Alice Motion)AOASG
10.00-11.00am (AWST)

12.00-1.00pm (AEST)

1.00-2.00pm (ADST)
Open with care?University of Southern Queensland
10.00-11.00am (AWST)

12 noon – 1.00pm (AEST)

1.00-2.00pm (ADST)
Copyright and CC licensing for OAAOASG
12.00 noon (AWST)

2.00pm (AEST)

3.00pm (ADST)
Datasets for Research: Open with purposeQUT
11.00-12.00 noon (AWST)

1.00-2.00pm (AEST)

2.00-2.30pm (ADST)
Data management essentialsVictoria University
11.00-12.00 noon (AWST)

1.00-2.00pm (AEST)

2.00-3.00pm (ADST)
Open access in Science, Engineering and the Built EnvironmentDeakin University
12.30-1.30pm (AWST)

2.30-3.30pm (AEST)

3.30-4.30pm (ADST)
Open education publishing roundtableLa Trobe University
11.30-12.30pm (AWST)

1.30-2.30pm (AEST)

3.30-4.30pm (ADST)
Open educational publishing – lessons learntRMIT
1.30-2.00pm (AWST)

3.30-4.00pm (AEST)

4.30-5.00pm (ADST)
Open GLAM with Reid MarginaliaLa Trobe University

Thursday October 22

Time Event University/Organisation
8.00-9.00am (AWST)

10.00-11.00am (AEST)

11.00-12.00 noon (ADST)
Gems and Nuggets: The value of open assessment for opening up higher educationUniversity of Southern Queensland
7.30-8.30am (AWST)

9.30-10.30am (AEST)

10.30-11.00am (ADST)
Predatory publishingVictoria University
9.00-10.00am (AWST)

11am – 12 noon (AEST)

12.00 noon – 1.00pm (ADST)
Open Access and biodiversity
knowledge
(Siobhan Leachman)
AOASG
9.00-10.00am (AWST)

11.00am – 12.00noon (AEST)

12.00 noon – 1.00pm (ADST)
Open Access in the time of COVID-19
Lunch and Learn
Swinburne University
8.00-9.00am (AWST)

10.00-11.00am (AEST)

11.00-12.00 (ADST)
Open Access and Research at RMITRMIT
8.30-9.00am (AWST)

10.30-11.00am (AEST)

11.30am -12.00noon (ADST)
A no-cost way to make your publications open accessVictoria University
8.00-8.45am (AWST)

10.00-10.45am (AEST)

11.00-11.45am (ADST)
Creative Commons and open publishing Deakin University
10.00-11.00am (AWST)

12.00 noon – 1.00pm (AEST)

1.00-2.00pm (ADST)
Connecting up open data via WikidataAOASG
10.00-11.00am (AWST)

12.00 noon – 1.00pm (AEST)

1.00-2.00pm (ADST)
Book Launch: Open Access in Theory and Practice: The Theory-Practice Relationship and Openness Co-authored by Dr Simon Wakeling, Lecturer, Charles Sturt UniversityCharles Sturt University
12.00 noon (AWST)

2.00pm (AEST)

3.00pm (ADST)
Hacky Hour QUT
11.00-12.00 noon (AWST)

1.00-2.00pm (AEST)

2.00-3.00pm (ADST)
Open access in HealthDeakin University
11.00-12.00 noon (AWST)

1.00-2.00pm (AEST)

2.00-3.30pm (ADST)
Finding and citing public domain and OA materialLa Trobe University
12.00 noon – 12.30pm (AWST)

2.00-2.30pm (AEST)

3.00-3.30pm (ADST)
Using Elements for free open access in DRO Deakin University
12.00 noon – 12.30pm (AWST)

2.00-2.30pm (AEST)

3.00-3.30pm (ADST)
Open educational resourcesVictoria University
1.00-2.00pm (AWST)

3.00-4.00pm (AEST)

4.00-5.00pm (ADST)
OPAL LaunchLa Trobe University

Friday October 23

Time Event University/Organisation
9.30-10.30am (AWST)

11.30am -12.30pm (AEST)

12.30-1.30pm (ADST)
How to Make Research Open AccessUniversity of Western Australia
8.00-9.00am (AWST)

10.00-11.00am (AEST)

11.00am – 12.00 noon (ADST)
Open to open: panel discussion about the motivations for creating open textbooksUniversity of Southern Queensland
11.00-11.30am (AEDST)Five questions answered about Open Educational Resources (For Students!)Victoria University
9.00-10.00am (AWST)

11.00am – 12.00 noon (AEST)

12.00 noon – 1.00pm (ADST)
Investing in the Infrastructure for Open (Kaitlin Thaney)AOASG
10.00-11.00am (AWST)

12.00 noon – 1.00pm (AEST)

1.00-2.00pm (ADST)
Advocacy in the pandemicAOASG